New Hampshire state law requires cash advance lenders to comply with the state’s Small Loan Act which attempts to limit excessive fees. Additionally, payday lenders must pay a yearly licensing fee to operate in the state. All advertisement and contracts must be explicit and free of deceptive statements. The state’s bank commissioner must be notified in writing for any complaints against a payday loan company. Payday advance lenders may not pursue criminal action against a borrower.
$500 is the maximum payday advance loan, excluding fees, allowed by law.
Loan terms vary- they can be anywhere from 7 to 30 days.
New Hampshire law does not permit extensions or rollovers.
Companies may charge any interest rate and fees that the consumer is willing to pay. However, upon default, the interest rate is capped at 6% a year.
If you feel a payday lender is operating unfairly or engaging in illegal collection practices, you can contact your New Hampshire Attorney General:
Office of the Attorney General
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH 03301